HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inFollow us on facebookFollow us on twitterFollow us on youtubeFollow us on LinkedinFollow us on PintrestContact usFeedback

Share  | 

Sarah- Introduction

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
SarahJane
SarahJane

Sarah- Introduction Empty
PostSubject: Sarah- Introduction   Sarah- Introduction I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 06, 2015 3:44 pm

Hi, I'm Sarah Jane.  I'm a 23 year old student living in Indiana.  I was diagnosed at the very end of May after seeing my ophthalmologist for pressure behind my right eye.  After an MRI, I was given a bedside spinal tap which was unsuccessful.  The next morning they successfully tapped me and and my opening pressure was 43.  I returned the next day to the ER for horrible back pain, and then three days later I went back again because of the low pressure headaches, and received a blood patch.  The headaches started again soon thereafter, and now I have the pressure in my left eye again.  I am awaiting my first neurology appointment, and next month am meeting with a NO. 

I am very scared to be entering the world of IIH.
Back to top Go down
Wylee
Wylee

PostSubject: Re: Sarah- Introduction   Sarah- Introduction I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 11, 2015 1:18 am

Hi Sarah and welcome to the forum.  I am so sorry for the delay in getting back to you.  It's our responsibility as members of this forum to watch for new posts.  I apologize.

Your being afraid is very normal.  Having a diagnosis of IIH can be very daunting.  There are differing opinions on treatments, prognosis, darn even as to what symptoms signal IIH.  There are no easy answers, but, many of us actually are able to go on with a relatively normal life, in spite of the diagnosis.