HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inFollow us on facebookFollow us on twitterFollow us on youtubeFollow us on LinkedinFollow us on PintrestContact usFeedback

Share  | 

Patty - diagnosed 2005

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
painoh
painoh

Patty - diagnosed 2005 Empty
PostSubject: Patty - diagnosed 2005   Patty - diagnosed 2005 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 19, 2010 9:00 pm

Hi, my name is Patty. I'm a 25-year-old, wife and mother of two. Originally from Pennyslvania, I've been living in Ohio since 2009. I look forward to getting to know you all better.

This is my [abridged] IH story.

In high school, I was a student-athlete. I never knew why when I practiced, got my heart rate really going, my vision would get so blurry. I assumed it happened to everyone. I know now that it didn't.

My "formal" introduction to Intracranial Hypertension came in 2005. During a routine exam, my optometrist noticed the indicative swelling of both of my optic nerves. I was young, in college, newly married, and pregnant. Needless to say, I was pretty naive to what this disorder had in-store for me. Of course, I learned quickly.

My eye doctor had suggested the swelling might be due to my pregnancy, but he referred me to an ophthalmologist anyways. I was about to leave for vacation that year and was busy beyond belief, so I cancelled that appointment and didn't reschedule.

A year later, back at the same eye doctor, he stopped mid-exam and asked, "Um, you're not pregnant again, are you?" I wasn't and wondered why he had asked. It was because my optic nerves were still swollen.

Time to visit that ophthalmologist who later confirmed my eye doctor's suspicion about my papilledema. The next few months brought a spinal tap and a visit to one of those fancy pants neuro-ophthalmologists.

I was on Diamox for nearly a year, although it never really helped my migraines. I hate pills.