HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inFollow us on facebookFollow us on twitterFollow us on youtubeFollow us on LinkedinFollow us on PintrestContact usFeedback

Share  | 

Lee diagnosed 2010

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
lee.shaver
lee.shaver

Lee diagnosed 2010 Empty
PostSubject: Lee diagnosed 2010   Lee diagnosed 2010 I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 21, 2013 11:21 pm

Hello everyone. I am new to the support forum, thought I am not newly diagnosed. I had an immediate onset of IIH in June of 2010. The doctors thought I had a blood clot on my brain but that turned out not to be the case. After six days in the hospital I was released with no diagnosis and an incredible headache. The headache has become constant. I call is a headache on a dimmer switch. The intensity seems to get turned up and down based on my stress level and how tired I am. Though for the past 5 weeks, it never seems to be at a low intensity.

I have had 3 lumbar punctures. The first, they did not measure the opening pressure. The second was before diamox (270) and the third was with diamox (180). The most recent tap was about a week ago and did not give me any headache relief. Yet, the doctor said 180 was a normal opening pressure. I have been very fortunate, the eye dr and the neurologist agree that my optic nerves are fine so far. However, I feel like I am having vision difficulties. Like I can't clear my vision when I blink.

So I find myself angry and confused with so many, many unanswered questions. I am trying to lose weight, but that has truly been the story of my life. I went on my first diet when I was 10. If it was easy I would have done it then! I keep telling myself that depriving myself of food is a small thing compared to this constant headache and the fear of losing my vision.