HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inFollow us on facebookFollow us on twitterFollow us on youtubeFollow us on LinkedinFollow us on PintrestContact usFeedback

Share  | 

AD diagnosed 2009

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
AD1285
AD1285

AD diagnosed 2009 Empty
PostSubject: AD diagnosed 2009   AD diagnosed 2009 I_icon_minitimeThu Dec 22, 2011 6:08 am

Hello all! I am a 26 year old single mother to three. I have been battling IIH since November 2009. After two years of failed attempts to find a neurosurgeon to take on my surgery due to lack of insurance, I am finally getting some help. I have lost all of my color vision, as well as all peripheral vision in my right eye due to the pressure that is being placed on my optic nerve. I recently recieved the terrifying news from my Opthamologist that none of my vision can ever be restored. I am on six different medications a day to treat migraines, motion sickness, nausea and now seizure medication. As I'm sure you all know, I am sick the majority of my time and I have lost most of my quality of life. I miss out on the simple everyday activities with my children, other family members and friends. It's hard to explain to someone that you are sick, when you show no physical signs of illness. I was declared disabled in August of this year, which for a 26 year old, seems like a death sentence in itself. I went from being a happy-go-lucky mother and lover of life, to a depressed, miserable mess. I recently got the news that I will be receiving help from the Lion's Club with my surgery. I have researched as much as possible about the different surgical options and have a pretty good idea of which type of shunt placement I will be undergoing. I am scared, to say that I am fine with all of this would be a complete dishonest understatement of my feelings. I want some answers, answers that the doctors themselves can't give me because they haven't been on the other side of the knife. I desperately need to talk to s