HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inFollow us on facebookFollow us on twitterFollow us on youtubeFollow us on LinkedinFollow us on PintrestContact usFeedback

Share  | 

Introduction that turned into me venting about stupid doctors

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Thesummerone761
Thesummerone761

Introduction that turned into me venting about stupid doctors Empty
PostSubject: Introduction that turned into me venting about stupid doctors   Introduction that turned into me venting about stupid doctors I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 26, 2016 2:02 am

Hello everybody!

I'm a newbie here so I will introduce myself: I'm a seventeen year old girl from the netherlands with IIH. I am so glad to have found a place to talk to others who are going through the same thing! I first started getting sick when I was 13. Severe fatigue, menstrual irregularities and often headaches. The doctor said it was just puberty so I pushed through it, but then, BAMN. One day, easter 2015 I was 15 at the time, I came home from school and had the worst headache I could ever imagine. It hasn't gone away since, I'd say, even with pain killers, it's always somewhere between a 4 and a 9. Going to school, or most days going anywhere, is not an option.

It took me a little over a year to get the right diagnosis. During this time I saw all kinds of horrible doctors; from one who told me I was perfectly healthy but maybe I'd feel better if I wasn't (slightly) overweight (had I tried weightwatchers?), to one neurologist who willfully gave me the wrong diagnosis (pressure headache) because he'd rather I'd spend my life in untreated horrible pain then admit he didn't know what was wrong. He even tried to get me and my parents to sign a legal document, so we couldn't file a malpractice lawsuit if we realised what he did.